Preludia - Unofficial website for Rafal Blechacz


May 5, 2009

Pontevedra saw a phenomenal pianist-review (Spain)

"La Voz de Galicia" (The voice of Galicia) posted a review on the concert by Orquesta Sinfónica de Galicia
at Auditorio del Centro Social Caixanova, Pontevedra, Galicia, Spain, on April 30, 2009,
which includes Rafał Blechacz's concerto No.2 by Saint-Saëns.

In the review, Leopoldo Centeno admires Blechacz as "global phenomenon".

Andrés Gaos: Granada: poema sinfónico
Camille Saint-Saëns: Concerto No.2, op. 22
Antonin Dvorák: Symphony No.8, op. 88

Original review (Spanish)

Sensational concerto by Polish pianist Rafał Blechacz

(Introduction, comment on Granada)

Concerto for piano and orchestra No 2 in G minor, Saint-Saëns, made the public excited
and it was not just by the beauty of the score of the solo instrument and orchestral treatment that it contains,
but by the exuberant, sensitive interpretation and virtuosity
by the young (23 years old) Polish pianist Rafał Blechacz.

Global Phenomenon
It is really unusual for a work that requires such highly technical and mental maturity
can be interpreted with such clarity, vigor, expression, sensitivity, virtuosity, pedal management
as shown by young Blechacz.

Something exceptional.
A pianist as the crown of a pine tree (=extraordinarily excellent).
He made us remember his countryman Arthur Rubinstein.

The orchestral musicians and the director himself showed thier admiration at the end of the concerto.

Rafał, if continuing to progress, as suggested by his qualities,
in ten more years he can be a global phenomenon..
It does not surprise us if he has the agenda fully occupied for the next two years.

At the same time, it is also fair to recognize the quality in conducting the orchestra by Victor Pablo
and ductility of the entire broad range of orchestra, to achieve such success.

Three minutes of intense applause made Rafał Blechacz offer a brilliant tip of the piano solo.

It was really a stunning concerto.

(comment on Dvorák: Symphony No.8)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.