Preludia - Unofficial website for Rafal Blechacz


Mar 7, 2010

Blechacz gave two encores to full house, Duke Univ

On March 5, 2010 at 20:00, Rafał Blechacz gave a recital at Reynolds Industries Theater, Bryan Center, Duke University, Durham, NC, US.
The recital finished a short while ago.
The following is a news from Roman Frackowski, who attended the recital.

"At Duke University Reynolds Theater house was oversold.
They had to add some chairs.
Big clapping after each piece, and standing ovation after Debussy
and at the end standing ovation, full house in standing ovation.

Many Poles in the audience and even more Japanese.
Rafał received three bouquets of flowers and gave two encores:
one Chopin's mazurka, but different than in Washington DC
and Beethoven's Scherzo from the Sonata".

From Feb.22 photo, in Warsaw

Let me extend my heartfelt appreciation to pan Roman Frackowski for sending us such a wonderful news in the midst of the hectic schedule. (I received the news just 50 munites after the recital finished!)

Several ticket sites for Duke University recital had the following description about Blechacz and I love it♪
"Graceful, thoughtful and poetic (New York Times), he shares an intuitive connection with that other Polish phenomenon Chopin."

Rafał Blechacz will hold the next recital tomorrow, on March 6, 20:15 (ET)
@ Spivey Hall, Clayton State University, Atlanta, Georgia, 560 km away from Durham.
It will be his final leg in US tour this year.
Have a nice trip to GA!

Spivey Hall combines extraordinary acoustics and elegant design to create one of the finest facilities of its kind in the nation...

The focal point of this 400-seat hall... is the Albert Schweitzer Memorial Organ, honoring the memory of Dr. Albert Schweitzer. The 4,413 pipe, three manual, 79-rank organ was installed and dedicated in 1992 with a series of concerts featuring organ masters Gillian Weir, Jean Guillou and Michael Murray. Tommy McCook, of Widener and Company, is the curator for the Albert Schweitzer Memorial Organ.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.