Preludia - Unofficial website for Rafal Blechacz


Feb 21, 2012

From My Classical Notes by Hank Zauderer

My classical Notes written by Hank Zauderer, CA, US,  Feb. 17.

Debussy Szymanowski, Performed by Rafał Blechacz, piano

Polish pianist Rafal Blechacz born on June 30, 1985, has been cited by critics as one of those rare talents that only come along every few decades. His playing is characterized by its elegance, delicacy, and a poetic beauty that has created comparisons to the legendary pianists of the early 20th century, including Krystian Zimmerman, and others.

One of the greatest Polish composer since Chopin, Szymanowski was also influenced by Ravel, Scriabin, and Strauss. For the first time on record Rafał Blechacz plays Szymanowski’s music, and it is a revelation to those unfamiliar with it.

Debussy’s Impressionist sounds including “Pour le piano” and “Estampes” are also a great fit for Mr. Blechacz with his Chopin expertise.

Here are some press comments:

“[the Szymanowski is] interpreted by Blechacz in a way that brings out its ripe personal voice and responds to its dramatic breadth of architecture…The disc is worth having for the Szymanowski alone, but Blechacz’s Debussy is also a joy of limpid colour and immaculately weighed articulation, encapsulating the character and imagery of the music with a masterly and imaginative touch.”The Telegraph, 17th February 2012 *****

“He’s virtuosic on Debussy’s “Pour le Piano”, whisking us up and down the keyboard yet allowing pre-echoes of Gershwin to creep in to its more dramatic chordings; his “Pagodes” is weightlessly evocative. There’s an almost existential yearning about Szymanowski’s “Prelude & Fugue in C sharp minor”, while “Sonata in C minor” is complex and involving.”The Independent, 17th February 2012 ****

Hank Zauderer is a violinist and an artist. He regularly hosts an evening classical music program at NPR radio station KUSP in Santa Cruz, California. (Read his bio and activity by clicking on "About Hank".)

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.