Preludia - Unofficial website for Rafal Blechacz


Apr 20, 2012

Review of Blechacz's recital in Hamburg Laeiszhalle (Germany)

A review of Rafał Blechacz's reciatal at Laeiszhall on April 18, by Welt on-line (Die Welt)

Original review

The pianist decrypted Fantasia.

Rafał Blechacz, born in 1985, is one of the really outstanding talents of the young pianist scene. In every beat of his interpretations one can sense the presence of paramount perspective. What the Polish virtuoso plays is filled with spirit and heart. For his Pro-Arte-recital on Wednesday at the Musikhalle Blechacz had the Piano Sonata No.1 Op 8 by his compatriot Karol Szymanowski in the program.

Without edges and pressure Blechacz developed the tremendous Fuga Allegro energico in the final, which he had introduced with a delicately sounded Adagio. Claude Debussy's Suite bergamasque with the timeless classical masterpiece "Clair de Lune" was sounded before. If it was about shades of color in all gradations on this occasion, Bach’s Partita No. 3 in A minor BWV 827 at the very beginning of the evening required the clear drawing of vocal lines. A tremendous appeal already unfolded the introductory Fantasia, in which Blechacz disclosed complex structures.

However, the real highlight of Blechacz's recital was Beethoven's Piano Sonata No. 7 in D major, Op 10/3. Blechacz worked out impressively the impetuosity of the first movement and then switched in the Largo e mesto to depression, stepping towards the energy discharge of extraordinary contrast. With incredible soft-touch, however, Blechacz expelled again these dark clouds through a sublime, noble theme. The dramatic gesture, the succinct Rondo theme at the end and the change in mood gladly played by Beethoven needed Blechacz’s resourceful formations.

This is a review of his recital in Hannover, April 16 by Neue Presse
"With Blechacz's piano across five sound worlds"

Original review
English by google translate

Rafał Blechacz's recital at BOZAR, Brussels, is still available on RTBF - Musiq3.
The program includes these pieces by Bach, Beethoven and Szymanowski.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.